About Us

Arizona District Export Council – Arizona’s Voice for Global Trade

Arizona District Export Council – Arizona’s Voice for Global Trade

The Arizona District Export Council (DEC) provides local leadership in international trade through its 30+ member council of international trade veterans and experts, all appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce. The District Export Council:

  • Collaborates with Arizona business, public and private sector groups to stimulate economic growth through trade and investment;
  • Advocates for a well-informed public and political dialogue about global business in Arizona;
  • Prepares Arizona to be a “global ready” State; and,
  • Supports the Arizona U.S. Export Assistance Center, a division of the U.S. Commercial Service.

Advocacy

AZ DEC Advocacy

The Arizona District Export Council, made up of members from throughout the state, serves as an advocate for international trade issues that impact Arizona. At the federal level, the Arizona DEC works in conjunction with congressional and senatorial offices to represent export-oriented Arizona businesses and their interests. The Council also works with city, county and state partners to address trade issues that are local and regional in nature.

Committees

AZ DEC Committees

Arizona District Export Council initiatives are organized around four committees:

  • Export Resources: works closely with the Arizona U.S. Export Assistance Center to organize export-oriented training designed to benefit Arizona companies. Examples include Export University programs in both Scottsdale and Tucson.
  • Education: reaches out to students and educators around Arizona to discuss the benefits of trade-oriented careers. The Education Committee sponsors an annual student essay contest.
  • Social Media: develops innovative means of communicating with Arizona’s global business community.
  • Trade Policy & Legislative Affairs: maintains relations with Arizona’s elected leaders, keeping them abreast of the export community’s policy concerns and aspirations.

Export Help

AZ DEC Export Help

The Arizona District Export Council works closely with the U.S. Commercial Service’s Export Assistance Centers in Arizona to help companies develop sales channels in new international markets. Local U.S. Commercial Service trade specialists stand ready to link Arizona companies to the agency’s 120+ overseas offices. For more information about the Arizona U.S. Export Assistance Center please click the link below.
Learn More

Nomination Process

AZ DEC Nomination Process

Members of the Arizona District Export Council (AZ DEC) are volunteers appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce. Members serve four year renewable terms. Nominations of individuals believed to be suitable candidates for membership should be forwarded to the AZ DEC’s Executive Secretary for consideration. The next nominating season will be in mid 2015.

Advisory Board Members

Barbara Barrett

ADVISORY BOARD MEMBER

Barbara Barrett

Triple Creek Guest Ranch
Paradise Valley

More Info
Larry Penley

ADVISORY BOARD MEMBER

Larry Penley

Thunderbird School of Management
Phoenix

More Info
Mike Hammond

ADVISORY BOARD MEMBER

Mike Hammond

Picor
Tucson

More Info

DEC Members

Karen R. Dickinson

CHAIR

Karen R. Dickinson

Polsinelli PC
Phoenix
karen.dickinson@exportaz.org

More Info
Kristian Richardson

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

Kristian Richardson

U.S. Commercial Service
Phoenix
Kristian.Richardson@exportaz.org

More Info
Carolita Oliveros

VICE CHAIR

Carolita Oliveros

Carolita L. Oliveros PC
Tucson
carolita.oliveros@exportaz.org

More Info
Gunnar Light

VICE CHAIR & EXPORT RESOURCES COMMITTEE CHAIR

Gunnar Light

Global Growth Strategies, LLC
Chandler
gunnar.light@exportaz.org

More Info
Fernando D. Almeida

TREASURER

Fernando D. Almeida

Bank of Arizona
Phoenix
fernando.almeida@exportaz.org

More Info
David M. Dozor

TRADE POLICY & LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE CHAIR

David M. Dozor

Dozor Enterprises, Inc.
Tucson
david.dozor@exportaz.org

More Info
Jose Felipe Garcia

SOCIAL MEDIA AND COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE

Jose Felipe Garcia

Visit Tucson
Tucson
felipe.garcia@exportaz.org

More Info
David Hinderliter

EDUCATION COMMITTEE CHAIR

David Hinderliter

Intel Corporation
Chandler
david.hinderliter@exportaz.org

More Info
Gary Pacific

CHAIR EMERITUS

Gary Pacific

Industrial Participation Projects
Mesa
gary.pacific@exportaz.org

More Info
Dr. Innocent N. Abiaka

Dr. Innocent N. Abiaka

AMI Consultants
Phoenix
innocent.abiaka@exportaz.org

More Info
Michael J. Arnold

Michael J. Arnold

University of Arizona
Tucson
michael.arnold@exportaz.org

More Info
Lee Benson

Lee Benson

Able Engineering
Mesa
lee.benson@exportaz.org

More Info
Doug Bruhnke

Doug Bruhnke

Growth Nation
Phoenix
doug.bruhnke@exportaz.org

More Info
member image

Carol Colombo

Fedelta Partners
Phoenix
carol.colombo@exportaz.org

More Info
Hillary Donau-Hastreiter Doll

Hillary Donau-Hastreiter Doll

Raytheon Missile Systems
Tucson
hillary.doll@exportaz.org

More Info
member image

George Fronske

Cytec Engineered Materials Inc.
Tempe
george.fronske@exportaz.org

More Info
Andy Germer

Andy Germer

Global G. Group
Phoenix
andy.germer@exportaz.org

More Info
Daniel Gitonga

Daniel Gitonga

FedEx
Phoenix
daniel.gitonga@exportaz.org

More Info
Ray Hays

Ray Hays

Envoy International Business Consulting
Tucson
ray.hays@exportaz.org

More Info
Fernando Jimenez

Fernando Jimenez

Arizona Commerce Authority
Phoenix
fernando.jimenez@exportaz.org

More Info
Franz A. Jost

Franz A. Jost

International Student Exchange Identity Cards, Inc.
Scottsdale
franz.jost@exportaz.org

More Info
Richard Katz

Richard Katz

Snell Wilmer Law Firm
Phoenix
richard.katz@exportaz.org

More Info
John Kellen

John Kellen

Sonora International Realty
Tucson
john.kellen@exportaz.org

More Info
Joann MacMaster

Joann MacMaster

Tech Launch Arizona
Tucson
joann.macmaster@exportaz.org

More Info
Dave Mansheim

Dave Mansheim

Bard Date Company
Yuma
dave.mansheim@exportaz.org

More Info
Frank B. Meijers

Frank B. Meijers

Luctor-Global Associates LLC
Scottsdale
frank.meijers@exportaz.org

More Info
Ligia McLean

Ligia McLean

Boeing Company
Phoenix
ligia.mclean@exportaz.org

More Info
Bryan Neff

Bryan Neff

Lever Performance Group
Phoenix
bryan.neff@exportaz.org

More Info
Kevin O’Shea

Kevin O’Shea

Arizona Commerce Authority
Tucson
kevin.oshea@exportaz.org

More Info
Eddie Othon

Eddie Othon

Global Commerce Solutions
Tucson
eddie.othon@exportaz.org

More Info
Julie Pastrick

Julie Pastrick

Flagstaff Chamber of Commerce
Flagstaff
julie.pastrick@exportaz.org

More Info
Bridget Riceci

Bridget Riceci

Thayer Medical
Tucson
bridget.riceci@exportaz.org

More Info
Melissa Sanderson

Melissa Sanderson

Freeport McMoRan
Phoenix
melissa.sanderson@exportaz.org

More Info
Henry Silentman

Henry Silentman

Navajo Nation
Shiprock, NM
henry.silentman@exportaz.org

More Info
Eddie Tantoco

Eddie Tantoco

Consulant
Phoenix
eddie.tantoco@exportaz.org

More Info
Susan Wick

Susan Wick

Mintec
Tucson
susan.wick@exportaz.org

More Info
Glenn Williamson

Glenn Williamson

Canada-Arizona Business Council
Scottsdale
glenn.williamson@exportaz.org

More Info
Melinda Wochner

Melinda Wochner

CoValence Laboratories
Chandler
melinda.wochner@exportaz.org

More Info
Steve Zylstra

Steve Zylstra

Arizona Technology Council
Phoenix
steve.zylstra@exportaz.org

More Info

Friends of the DEC

Bruce Wright

Bruce Wright

University Research Parks, University of Arizona
Tucson

More Info
Craig Rochette

Craig Rochette

CYR International, LLC
Phoenix

More Info
Eric Nielsen

Eric Nielsen

U.S. Commercial Service
Tucson
eric.nielsen@exportaz.org

More Info
Vincent Thelander

Vincent Thelander

Bank of America
Phoenix

More Info
Mark Roberts

Mark Roberts

Alliance Bank
Phoenix

More Info
Hank Marshall

Hank Marshall

City of Phoenix
Phoenix

More Info
Robert Blaney

Robert Blaney

U.S. Small Business Administration
Phoenix
robert.blaney@exportaz.org

More Info
Carlos Emmermann

Carlos Emmermann

Sonoran Bank
Phoenix
carlos.emmermann@exportaz.org

More Info
Margie Emmermann

Margie Emmermann

Arizona Mexico Commission
Phoenix
margie.emmermann@exportaz.org

More Info